My themes in the 2019 parliamentary elections will be translated ASAP, the Finnish version can be found here

Bio

My name is Olli-Poika Parviainen. People usually call me OPP. I am 38 years old and I live in Tampere, Finland. Our family consists of me, my spouse and our two small children. I am a member of the parliament of Finland and first vice chairperson of the Greens in the parliament. I am also representing Finland in the parliamentary assembly of Council of Europe.

In the parliament of Finland, I work in the committee of administration (=internal affairs) and committee for the future. Current term is my first in the parliament. I am running for a second term in 2019 elections. Politically I’m active in e.g. topics of human rights, information society, technology, immigration, transportation, education, equality and environment.

I have a Master of Science (MSc) degree in information and game studies. My master’s thesis was about digital games and their possibilities for successful aging and elderly people. I am also a Bachelor of Culture and Arts (BA).

I have been nearly 20 years in politics. I am currently on my third term in the Tampere city council where I was first elected in 2008. Before that I was the first vice member of my group.

Before I was elected to parliament, I was the municipal council chairman of Tampereen Vihreät (Tampere Greens). I was also the elected deputy mayor (one of four vice mayors) of Tampere, responsible for the city’s culture, sports, business administration and education policies from 2nd level up.

Before the city council chose me to be the deputy mayor, I was a member of the city board and held several other municipal positions. I have worked as a freelance entrepreneur and as a part-time IT teacher at a training center for immigrants. I was also an assistant in the parliament for five years.

My career in social activism started when I became a co-founder of the Tampere branch of ViNO (Federation of Green Youth and Students). I was also one of the founders of national ViNO itself, and I served as chair of both organizations. I was also the chair of the Tampere Greens. I have been active in other civic associations as well.

I like to relax by spending time with my family and friends, or by exercising or cycling. I like stargazing, music, movies and reading a lot of books (especially nonfiction, science fiction, history and biographies). Occasionally you will spot me at a club or a gig.